Happiness · Productivity · Progress

Finding her voice

In the last two months or so; Eliana has really started developing her speech. Although, she’s not quite there with her annunciation it is often apparent what word she’s attempting to say. 

The funny thing is she loves music. 

I’m sure you’re thinking well don’t most babies/ toddlers like music. 

And yes, you would be correct in thinking that but I have to say that Ellie-bear enjoys it in a way that surprises me. 

She loves vocalists like The Hamiltones. The Hamiltones – Hotline Bling Cover

She will drop whatever she is doing and dance to  Fela Anikulapo Kuti’s Kere kay  and she will shout “gbao” at the correct time. 

Fela Kuti – Kere Kay
But her favourite is D.R.A.M’s Cha Cha which she will gleefully sing along to the riffs in the opening verse and then try and sing “I like to Cha Cha” before shouting Yeah! 

D.R.A.M – Cha Cha
If you know the song then you will know that she’s got the song down.

It’s the familiarity of the songs being sung that she is using to build her vocabulary. 

And hopefully her love of music will transpire to many nights curled up on the sofa together discussing our favourite types of music. 

Eliana is at a stage where she really wants to communicate with us. So, I’m trying to find different ways to boost her understanding of words and how we use them. 

She has just started pointing to things that she wants. I know one day soon she will say what it is she wants. 

She enjoys a good sing along to the A B C song and even though she doesn’t sing with clarity, she always cheers and claps for herself. 

I’m planning on getting some flash cards for her to see if that helps. I will let you know how that goes.

I’m so proud of her progression and it makes me happy to see that she is expanding her knowledge. 

I hope that as she finds her voice, she will never lose it. 

She will find power in her voice to speak up for the things that matter. 

Her voice will speak life into situations and circumstances.

I hope she will never be discouraged when using her voice. 

I hope Eliana’s voice will speak truth, love and peace.

Love Lenny xx

Leave a comment